Skip to content

It never fails

December 31, 2010

ⓒSilva Erglis 2010

It’s 12AM and I have to get up at 7AM and as usual I am wide awake. These are the hours when the majority of people are in or preparing to go to bed, for me they are the hours of inspiration.

As much as I dislike having to get out from under my warm blankets to grab a scrap of paper and whatever writing utensil I can find I’m usually glad that I did brave the cold the next morning when I read those scattered thoughts and find myself with completed ideas in my mind. Maybe it’s the quiet, maybe it’s the stillness, maybe it’s the darkness, maybe it’s my brain finally getting a chance to flesh out ideas that have been pooling in my head all day, who knows? who wants to know? Well, not going to lie, I kinda do!

I want to know how we can stimulate these moments; I want to know what triggers good ideas; I want to know where creativity originates. I want to know these things because I think it will give me and whoever else can know it a deeper and fuller view of the world around us. Creativity is something I am being trained in at school but I love taking it out of the classroom and the assignments and applying it to conversations and interactions with other people, be it close friends or complete strangers. I don’t mean this in a strange, I’m trying to warp people’s perspectives and ideas way but in an I’m trying to seek the creativity that I know is in everyone, even if they don’t know it’s there. At my job I come into contact with a wide variety of people, young ones, old ones, middle-aged ones, and I can honestly say that I’ve had some sort of conversation with each generation involving creativity. Whether we are talking about awe inspiring Vermeer paintings, the dangers of editing out flat notes made by singers during recording, or how beneficial photography is to the world I see people become passionate and spring to life in a matter of minutes. It’s truly amazing and it fills me with joy and wonder for the Powers That Be that created you and I.

It’s my new years resolution to be as creative as I possibly can while following the advice of  this genius of a man and his 7 Habits of Creativity as well as a slew of other individuals that inspire me. I hope that you will take the challenge with me!

Cheers to you and yours for a Happy New Year!

See you in 2011!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

